American Crime Story: People v. O.J

Last night FX premiered the highly anticipated The People V. O.J Simpson season executive produced by American Horror Story’s Ryan Murphy. Overall, it was good, but let’s get into the bloody details. And also let me know what you guys think in the comments below.

people vs oj simpson banner

The Backdrop

So obviously, the O.J Simpson trial is still considered the ‘trial of the century’ because it revolved around a Heisman trophy winner / football hero turned celebrity, it all went down in in Hollywood, and it involved a pretty epic car chase. I guess my question is, why this case? There’s been several books, films, and shows about all aspects of this story, why do we need another one? Other than the fact that it was highly publicized, why are we watching this? After watching last night’s premiere, I realized it’s not really about answering that question. The real clincher is, how and why did this happen the way it did? If he was guilty, how did he get away with it? And everything, it seems, or how everything unfolded in this case, was a clear reflection of the events that happened in Los Angeles in 1992.

That’s how they set up the show, and I’ve just finished Straight Outta Compton (yes I know I’m late to the game) but the movie takes place around the same time, so I’m really getting my fair share of the L.A riot media footage. Also, in light of all the murder mysteries this year. From Netflix’s Making a Murderer to HBO’s The Jinx, there’s clearly an intrigue with cases with a not so ‘black and white’ ending (no pun intended on the colours black and white).

The Characters

Cuba Gooding Jr as O.J  – Let’s start with the man of the hour, O.J is played by Cuba Gooding JR., and I don’t really know much about O.J but reading all the tweets from last night, a lot of people were saying he did a great job mastering O.J’s ‘walk’…whatever it looks like. He also mastered psychotic ex-husband really well, so there’s that. I was definitely over Cuba’s screaming tantrums by the end of it, but I get it, they’re staying true to all aspects of this story.

David Schwimmer as Robert Kardashian – Is it just me or did it feel like David Schwimmer was playing Ross Gellar playing Robert Kardashian? He was wearing the same neurotic worry face he had on as Ross, and I don’t know if Robert was that person. I’ve only ever read about Robert Kardashian through Kris’ ‘mem-wah’ and it sounded like he was a really confident and in charge lawyer? But I could be wrong, or we just don’t see that side of Robert come through until the trial actually begins. So overall, no I didn’t like David Schwimmer. But I’ll give it some time.

Sarah Paulson as Marcia Clark – Curls on curls on curls. I love Sarah Paulson, and I’m super excited to see her in the rest of this season because she’s definitely going to play a huge role throughout the trial. I feel bad for the choice in hair she has, but something tells me she’s going to be nominated for a whole slew of awards next season. So it might be worth it.

John Travolta as Robert Shapiro– What do you want me to say? His face literally looks like it’s melting off in the LA heat and his eyebrows look like furry caterpillars glued onto his face. But I guess he does a good job playing Robert Shapiro? I don’t know it’s John freakin’ Travolta.

Selma Blair and Connie Britton as Kris Jenner and Faye Resnick– Let me just group these two girls together because that’s how we see them for the first time at Nicole’s funeral. Selma is playing the ex-wife of Robert Kardashian aka Kris Jenner, and Connie is playing Nicole’s close friend Faye Resnick. I’d like to note here that the real Faye Resnick is now playing a larger role than normal on The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills. For…wait for it…her having written a book on being Nicole Brown’s best friend. Coincidence? Andy Cohen and Ryan Murphy timing this out perfectly? I wouldn’t put it past them.

Connie is back with Murphy, seriously I thought he shunned her from his shows after her crappy performance in American Horror Story season one. Connie looks like a bad ass b**** who excels in her very obvious, very expositional dialogue. Telling Kris when Robert walks into the funeral, ‘there’s your ex’. Um, yeah Faye, we know this since we just saw Kris yelling at her three adolescent daughters Kourtney, Kim and Khloe. I guess she’s pointing out that they are no longer a couple, I wonder if Bruce will play a role in this season? (this last part was a joke btw)

Let me just say here, I don’t want this entire season to be full of Kardashian sister references, I don’t want my Twitter feed from the night’s episode to be all about Kris and her ability to be a mother. We did it last night, let’s get it out of our systems and move on. They are not the centre of this story, no matter how much we’d like that to be the case. (pun intended)

I might’ve left out some other key characters, but we’ll get to them once we dive further into the season. Whether O.J was guilty or not, Ryan Murphy is guilty of being one of the best television directors out there and the style and feel has for this show is going to separate it from anything else out there. So yeah, make sure you make some time to watch the premiere. And comment below if you want to join the discussion.

American Crime Story: The People V. O.J Simpson airs on FX at 10pm.

Leave a Reply

