The Walking Dead Mid Season Finale

I don’t think I’ve been this upset over a character’s death since probably Sophia back in season 2. Even looking back on some of the epic deaths in HBO’s Game of Thrones doesn’t compare to the absolute disheartening feeling watching Daryl carry Beth’s lifeless body out of the hospital. I just couldn’t believe this entire half season led to this moment, and I found myself more angry than sad as the hours went by.

First of all, I’d like to say that I haven’t always been a Beth supporter. I mean realistically, who has? Some people didn’t even know who she was until this season when she became a key focus in the show. This season, saving Beth was the main mission, alongside Eugene and his hopes of finding a cure in Washington. But let’s put aside all the useless characters The Walking Dead has adopted over the last little while (after last night’s boring sibling conversation I’m looking at you Tyreese) I want to talk about why I felt Beth’s death was unjust.

ugggggggggggggggggghhhh
ugggggggggggggggggghhhh

Looking back over the past year, our characters have really been all over the place. Since the prison’s downfall, stories have been all over, and last season’s Terminus checkpoint was the biggest waste of the entire series. They spent all this time building up to it, and then it was over in a blink of an eye. Yes, they moved on from it quickly, and yes we saw the return of Carol but I just felt like it was another wasted step. Having watched last night’s episode, and seeing what the end result of all this was, I feel like this to was a waste. Someone on Twitter mentioned that for this hospital storyline to end this way, was truly a waste of time. Nothing was solved, nothing got done, why did Beth have to die? It was supposed to be a rescue mission, this wasn’t supposed to happen. This is where my allegiance to the show is truly tested. Did they kill Beth off because they wanted this big bang for their mid-season finale? Or did they legitimately have to kill a character because it was time and that character’s arc was fulfilled?

I’m choosing to believe the first option because I don’t feel like Beth’s character was anywhere near being done. She had so much potential, I really loved the idea of her and Daryl, she brought a sense of hope to the show and the way it all went down just didn’t feel right. There are so many other characters who I would’ve been okay to let go, even in that moment as they were trading people I was okay with Carol not making it through. I told myself she’s been through so much, she saved the entire gang at Terminus, she’s had an amazing run and it’d be okay if she didn’t make it. Same goes for Hershel and Andrea, when they died it felt like it was the right timing. As I was discussing last night’s finale with a friend, the idea of Beth going through something more traumatic than she experienced would’ve made for a more meaningful ending. I don’t mean to sound harsh, but if Beth suffered more at the hospital, the audience might’ve understood her intentions and rationale when she attacked Dawn with the scissors. Instead she was left with a few stitches, and not a whole lot of reasons to put her life and her crews life in jeopardy when she attacked Dawn. It seemed like it was for nothing.

For some reason there was a higher stake on Beth’s head, and looking back on it now there were some signs pointing to her death. The way Michonne smiled at Maggie when she told her Beth was still alive. Um, have you seen Michonne? That girl never smiles, finally she’s smiling and finally Maggie is remembering she has a sister, oh but don’t get too excited because she’ll be dead in minutes! Of course it was coming, how did we not see this? Everything about that ending in the hallway was absolutely gut wrenching.

What’s next for the gang. For me, I am totally okay with letting my emotions have some time off before the remaining half of the season resumes in February. But when it does, will the gang be able to move on from this? I’m wondering if there will be any backlash from the decision between trading people or just attacking the hospital (which was Rick’s original plan) I have no idea what’s going to happen when the show returns, as of right now my little inner Walking Dead fire has burnt out and I’m pretty let down.

What’s the verdict people? Is there ever a good time/moment for a character to die? Did it make sense for the writers to kill off Beth the way they did? Pauly D has it all right.

PaulyD

Side Pieces:

– Beth you really showed your inner Beyonce this season but girl wtf? were you trying to accomplish by stabbing Dawn with a pair of scissors!?

– As soon as the episode started off with Rick running Bob over with the police cruiser, I knew someone was going to die by the end of the episode. The writers on this show never give us anything satisfying without a pinch of something absolutely devastating

– Noah and Father Gabriel the most useless and ‘extra’ people on this show. If the writer’s think they will somehow get us to like them next season, they are actually delusional. It’s going to be hard not to blame Noah for Beth’s death

– Maggie I’m glad you finally realized you had a missing sister, but it’s too late ( Lauren Cohan’s interview on The Talking Dead about losing Beth’s character was too emotional to watch. Waterworks.)

– I love how the show ended off with Morgan, and by love I really mean are they really trying to distract us from KILLING BETH by showing creepy Morgan. Get outta here!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

