American Horror Story

Ah!! I’ve had my fair share of scary movies…but scary TV shows? Seriously, I haven’t been this terrified by a TV show since the Icetruck Killer in Dexter. If you missed the title, I’m talking about the new FX series American Horror Story. The spine chilling show premiered in October (The show was picked up for a second season on October 31,2011)…but I finally got around to watching it last week. By last week, I mean Wednesday…and I’m already done the entire season…well except the final episode that’ll be airing December 21st.

The show basically revolves around a family…Ben (Dylan McDermott), Vivien (Connie Britton)…and their daughter Violet. The family moves from Boston to Los Angeles after Vivien catches her husband Ben having an affair. Their move is supposed to be a ‘new beginning’ for the family who work hard at keeping the family union together. They get to Sunny LA and move right into this house…

Seriously…you guys couldn’t find a less depressing haunted house to move into? The house is obviously filled with angry spirits and ghosts…the agent lets them know that…except they don’t really care because it’s mad cheap. The last couple who owned it was a gay couple…and they died in the house (murder/suicide kinda thing).

Ben is a psychiatrist which is extremely ironic…since each character goes through this weird crazy mental stage- including him…and he can’t do anything about it. Honestly, I can’t even write anymore without giving some surprises away so I’ll stop here and just say how amazing this show is. There are so many other characters that you’ll meet along the way…but I don’t want to get into it…because I don’t want to spoil it.

Cinematically it’s stunning….the lighting/shadows is obviously important in this kind of show and they definitely do a good job at bringing the feeling of the scene straight to the audience. Speaking of audiences, I don’t think this kind of show is for everyone, if you have a weak stomach/are not in the whole depresso scene, then no this show isn’t for you. There’s a lot of pain and suffering all the characters go through, and at times it was really heavy to watch but I’m I stuck through it. I’m not a huge horror fan myself, but once I watched the Pilot episode…I couldn’t resists…next thing I knew the entire season was done.

Stay tuned for the finale!

xo

 

Leave a Reply

